Sunday, June 23, 2024
HomeHistory8 Intriguing Things you Must know about Telugu Desham Party

8 Intriguing Things you Must know about Telugu Desham Party

Andhra Pradesh and Telangana are two states in India where the Telugu Desham Party holds regional political power. Actor and politician Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao (NTR) established it on March 29, 1982. Protecting Telugu speakers’ interests and resolving regional disputes were the primary goals of the party.

Important moments in Telugu Desham Party history:

  1. Establishment

The Telugu Desam Party was established in 1982 by the renowned Telugu film actor Nandamuri Taraka Rama Rao, who wanted to improve the lives of the people living in Andhra Pradesh.

2. Triumph at the Polls (1983):

In 1983, the TDP had its maiden assembly election and came out on top, forming a government with NTR as chief minister.

3. Development and Welfare Programs:

The TDP launched a number of welfare and development programs during its first few years in office. Improvements in healthcare, education, and rural development were priorities for NTR’s administration.

4. Conflicts Within the Party (1995):

In 1995, NTR was deposed from his position as party leader by a faction headed by N. Chandrababu Naidu, who was NTR’s son-in-law.

5. Times of ChandraBabu Naidu

During the time of N. Chandrababu Naidu, the party and the state government were led by Naidu. He received accolades for his attempts to bring the state up to date through the development programs and economic changes he instituted.

6. Subsequent Elections:

In the elections that followed, the TDP and the Indian National Congress took turns ruling Andhra Pradesh. Chandrababu Naidu was the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh on several occasions.

7. Bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh (2014):

Andhra Pradesh was split in 2014, resulting in the formation of Telangana as an independent state. In Andhra Pradesh, the TDP remained a powerful political party.

8. Other Developments

The party has been struggling recently, and in 2019 elections, the Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP), headed by Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy, took power.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

Recent Comments