Sunday, June 23, 2024
HomeElections 2024BJP's First List Blasts MPs for Hate Speech

BJP’s First List Blasts MPs for Hate Speech

New Delhi:

The BJP unveiled its initial list of 195 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, with noticeable exclusions drawing more attention than the included names. These individuals consist of the firebrand leader Pragya Thakur, as well as the current Members of Parliament from Delhi, Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma and Ramesh Bidhuri.

The three leaders have attracted attention for their contentious statements in and out of Parliament. The BJP’s decision to remove them indicates that the party is being cautious before an upcoming election where it is up against a united Opposition.

Pragya Thakur has been replaced by Alok Sharma in Bhopal by the BJP. The firebrand leader, who was charged in the 2008 Malegaon blasts case, caused a significant controversy with their nomination last time. Over the past five years, she has been involved in multiple disputes. Ms. Thakur, who was released on bond for health reasons, has been observed participating in kabaddi matches and attending garba events. One of the controversies that may have had the most negative impact on her reputation is a statement where she referred to Nathuram Godse, the one who assassinated Mahatma Gandhi, as a “patriot.”

Prime Minister Narendra Modi responded sternly to the comment. The comments regarding Gandhiji or Nathuram Godse are highly inappropriate and detrimental to society. “She has apologized, but I will never be able to fully forgive her,” he stated. After five years, Ms. Thakur no longer holds her position.

Ms. Thakur faced criticism for her comments against the late Mumbai ATS chief Hemant Karkare, who passed away during the 2008 terror strikes. She claimed that his death was a result of her “curse”. The party insiders indicated that the influential leader’s lack of involvement in her constituency was a significant factor in her removal.

One notable absence in the BJP list that caught many by surprise was West Delhi MP Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma. He is a two-time Member of Parliament and the son of the late former Chief Minister, Sahib Singh Verma, with a significant support network. The 46-year-old leader has gained attention for his provocative comments.

Prior to the 2020 Delhi elections, Mr. Verma made contentious comments during the Shaheen Bagh demonstration, stating that the protesters would be removed within an hour if the BJP gained power in the national capital.

In 2022, Mr. Verma gained attention once more for issuing a public appeal for boycotting Muslims. To correct their behavior, the most effective solution is to completely boycott them wherever they are encountered. The BJP MP instructed individuals to raise their hand if they agreed.

As the 2024 polls approach, the BJP has clearly defined its objectives. The party aims to prioritize Prime Minister Modi’s ‘Viksit Bharat @2047’ initiative and avoid its leaders making statements that could be used by the Opposition to criticize and embarrass the ruling party.

South Delhi MP Ramesh Bidhuri might have been removed from his position due to his comments. In September of last year, during a Lok Sabha discussion, Mr. Bidhuri made Islamophobic remarks towards Amroha MP Danish Ali. The offensive comments were recorded on camera and caused a significant dispute. Although the South Delhi MP apologized afterward, the BJP’s initial list indicates that the apology was insufficient.

Other notable Delhi MPs who have been excluded are Meenakshi Lekhi and Harsh Vardhan. In the 2019 polls, the BJP gained all seats in the national capital but now faces a united Opposition. The AAP is contesting four seats, while the Congress is fighting three. Bansuri, the daughter and lawyer of the late BJP leader Sushma Swaraj, has been nominated to run from New Delhi.

The BJP considers many aspects while selecting candidates, according to sources within the party. “Winnability is crucial.” According to a party leader, some Members of Parliament were deemed unpopular in their electoral districts.

Leaders like Pragya Thakur, Ramesh Bidhuri, and Parvesh Verma have undoubtedly caused embarrassment to the party with their aggressive utterances. Denying them tickets also conveys that maintaining decorum is essential in public life. The BJP leader stated that the Prime Minister had cautioned party leaders multiple times in the past against making contentious statements.

33 incumbent MPs were not included in the BJP’s initial list of 195 candidates. Notable candidates in the election include former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia.

(This news report is from a syndicated feed. THND team members did not write or edit the content except for the headline.)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

Recent Comments